Folio
 
Every reservation in hoteliport is contained within a Folio dialog.
 
 
Make a Reservation
To make a reservation in a specific room, go to the Calendar page and click the room number.
To make a reservation without first specifying the room-number, click the "New Booking" button at top-right. (You can specify room-type and room number in Step 2).
 
The Set Check-in and Check-out Dates dialog opens.
 
 
Scroll (if necessary) to the correct month and click the check-in date, then the check-out date.
Use the Reset button to correct the dates you've clicked, or cancel the operation by clicking the "Close" icon
Click Continue.
 
The Choose Room dialog opens.
 
 
Notice that status Confirmed is selected by default.
If the reservation is not yet confirmed, select Requested instead.
If you just want to prevent a room from being booked (because it needs repair, for example), select Blocked.
 
Type the guest's name into the Booking Name field.
 
Select the Agent who provided the reservation (or "Walk-in"). This selects the appropriate rates from the associated rate-plan.
(See Help topics "Sales Channel Manager / Agent Profiles" and "Rate-plan Manager / Manage Rate-plans/Agents").
 
Select the Room Type and then the room number from Available Rooms.
 
Click Change Dates to return to the previous step, or click Continue to complete the reservation.
 
The Folio dialog opens.
 
 
Here you can type in notes and information about the guest or the reservtion.
You can change the reservation Status, you can Cancel the room, you can Add a Room to the reservation,
you can veiw/print/email the Voucher, you can view/print/email the Invoice(s), view the reservation History,
and you can Move the booking to another room and/or change its Dates.
 
You can also modify the nightly rates if required. This also updates the reservation invoice.
 
 
 
Modify Booking Dates
In the Folio, click the Dates button.
The Modify Check-in and Check-out Dates dialog opens.
 
 
Scroll (if necessary) to the correct month and click the new check-in date, then the new check-out date.
Use the Reset button to correct the dates you've clicked, or cancel the operation by clicking Cancel or the "Close" icon
Click Continue.
 
The Choose Room dialog opens.
 
 
If the room-type and room number are available for the new dates, they will already be selected.
Otherwise, select the Room Type and then the room number from Available Rooms.
 
Click Go Back to return to the previous step, click the "Close" icon to cancel the operation, or click Continue to complete the modification.
 
 
 
Move to another room
In the Folio, click the Move button.
The Choose Room dialog opens.
 
 
Select the Room Type and then the room number from Available Rooms.
 
Click the Cancel Move button or the "Close" icon to cancel the operation, or click Move to complete the move.
 
You can also move bookings into the ClipBoard.
The ClipBoard, accessible on the Calendar page, is a temporary holding place for one room-booking and is used to make space in the Calendar
to make it easier to move bookings around during busy times. The booking in the ClipBoard should be move back into a room as soon as possible!
 
 
Confirm rate-change
Whenever the rates of a booking change while using the Move to another Room function - typically when changing room-type - the following appears in the Choose Room dialog:
 
 
In this example the booking has a current value of EUR 385.00 and its value after the move will be EUR 630, so this booking is being upgraded.
Notice the selectors for Change to this rate and Do not change rate ...
 
Select as appropriate, depending on whether the guest is to be charged for the upgrade, or discounted for a downgrade.
 
 
 
Cancelling Reservations
Bookings can be cancelled from the Calendar page or from within Folio dialogs.
 
 
To cancel a booking from the Calendar page, click the booking to get the Info Bubble and then click the Cancel button.
To cancel a booking from the Folio, click the Cancel button.
 
The "Reason for cancellation" dialog appears ...
 
 
In this example, the Cancel button was clicked from the booking in room 2B, and 2B is in a group booking with rooms 1 and 3.
In the dialog box, 2B is already marked for cancellation.
You can click the other rooms too to cancel them also. (Click again to un-mark for cancellation).
 
Enter the reason for cancellation in the text box, and click the Cancel Booking button.
 
The selected rooms are then cancelled, the reason for cancellation is recorded in the Reports/Cancellations section, and the cancelled rooms are marked !!! CANCELLED !!! in the invoice.
The price in the invoice has not been changed, however, because the system cannot know what cancellation policy may apply.
Therefor, the following notice is displayed:
 
 
The invoice now looks like this:
 
 
Room 2B is coloured light-red and marked !!! CANCELLED !!!, but the price has not been changed.
 
The Description text can be added to, but not deleted.
Click in the light-red area to add a text like "Cancellation fee applied", for example.
 
 
Then enter the new price in the Item Price box.
The result looks like this:
 
 
Now save the invoice.
 
The change is recorded in the Invoice Event Log which you can see by clicking the i button at the top of the invoice.
 
 
If room 2B had had an additional invoice before it was cancelled,
that invoice would have been transferred to room 1 because 1 is responsible for the group.
Room 1 would then have two invoices which must be paid before the guest can check-out.
 
 
The invoice for room 2B, which now belongs to room 1, is labelled Room 2B Cancelled.
 
 
If all rooms in a group-booking, or a single-room booking, are cancelled,
all invoices are transferred to the Roomless Invoices collection which you can see by clicking the Invoices tab in the main menu.
 
 
If these invoices were not closed before the cancellation, they can be opened now and modified as required.